National Report on Schooling in Australia 2010

National policy context

1.2 Measuring performance

The Measurement Framework for Schooling in Australia provides the basis for national reporting on the performance of schooling in Australia, as agreed by Education Ministers, and is the focus of data included in this report.

The Measurement Framework defines the national key performance measures (KPMs), specifies the data sources for the key performance measures and outlines the reporting cycle for the period 2010–15. It replaces the MCEETYA Measurement Framework for National Key Performance Measures.

The Measurement Framework for Schooling in Australia incorporates measures arising from the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians and measures reflecting Council of Australian Governments (COAG) targets and indicators drawn from the performance reporting framework of the National Education Agreement.

The framework is maintained by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) on behalf of the Ministerial Council for Education, Early Childhood Development and Youth Affairs (MCEECDYA) and is published on the ACARA website. It will be revised by ACARA in consultation with jurisdictions and sectors. A full review of the framework will be undertaken by ACARA every three years, commencing in 2012.

Key Performance Measures

The core of the Measurement Framework is the Schedule of Key Performance Measures (KPMs). By intent, these KPMs are:
  • strategic measures that provide nationally comparable data on aspects of performance critical to monitoring progress against the Melbourne Declaration

  • focused on student participation, achievement and attainment

  • based on sound and reliable assessment practice

  • supportive of open and transparent reporting

  • relevant and of interest to the public

  • cost effective, practical to collect, and take account of the burden and impact that data collection may place on students, schools and schooling systems.

Agreed areas

The agreed areas of performance monitoring include:
Achievement in the National Assessment Program (NAP), with a focus on:
  • literacy

  • numeracy

  • science

  • civics and citizenship

  • information and communication technologies (ICT).

Participation and attainment, with a focus on:
  • engagement of young people in vocational education and training (VET)

  • participation

  • school completion and attainment

  • student attendance.