ACARA Update extra, June 2015

ACARA’s new Board Chair:
Emeritus Professor Steven Schwartz AM20150623 Steven Schwartz

Minister for Education and Training, the Hon. Christopher Pyne MP, today announced Emeritus Professor Steven Schwartz AM as the new Chair of the ACARA Board.

“Professor Schwartz will provide an ‘experienced pair of hands’ as ACARA’s work enters its next phase,” Mr Pyne said.

“[He] couldn’t be better placed to take on this challenging role given his excellent record as an outstanding educationalist and is highly regarded as an organisational leader, known for his vision and strategic leadership skills.”

ACARA CEO, Robert Randall, also welcomed Professor Schwartz’s appointment to the Board.

“Professor Schwartz brings extensive experience in the education sector to his new position as ACARA Board Chair. He has served as a vice-chancellor and president of three universities (Macquarie and Murdoch Universities in Australia, and Brunel University in England). A prize-winning researcher, teacher and author of 13 books, he is also the executive director of the Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Science and a director of Teach for Australia – an organisation that aims to give all children the best chance in life through an excellent education. I look forward to working with Professor Schwartz and am confident his expertise, vision and leadership will help ACARA to build on our achievements and continue to improve the learning of all young Australians,” Mr Randall said.

ACARA also welcomes four new ACARA Board members who are replacing outgoing members: Dr David Howes from Victoria; Ms Jayne Johnston from South Australia; Mr Paul Hewitt from NSW; and Dr Tim McDonald from the National Catholic Education Commission.