Measurement Framework for Schooling in Australia 2010

The Measurement Framework for Schooling in Australia 2010 provides the basis for national reporting on the performance of schooling in Australia, as agreed by Education Ministers, for the 2010 and 2011 reporting years.

The Measurement Framework incorporates measures arising from the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians and measures reflecting Council of Australian Governments (COAG) targets and indicators drawn from the Performance Reporting Framework of the National Education Agreement.  

Key Performance Measures

The core of the Measurement Framework is the Schedule of Key Performance Measures (KPMs).  

Agreed Areas

The agreed areas of performance monitoring include

Achievement in the National Assessment Program (NAP), with a focus on

  • literacy

  • numeracy

  • science

  • civics and citizenship

  • information and communication technologies (ICT).

Participation and attainment, with a focus on

  • engagement of young people in vocational education and training (VET)

  • participation

  • school completion and attainment

  • student attendance

The Measurement Framework for Schooling in Australia 2010 defines the national key performance measures (KPMs) and specifies the data sources for the KPMs reported in the National Report on Schooling in Australia 2010 and 2011. It replaced the MCEETYA Measurement Framework for National Key Performance Measures 2008.

The framework was developed by ACARA on behalf of the Ministerial Council for Education, Early Childhood Development and Youth Affairs (MCEECDYA). MCEECDYA was replaced by the Standing Council on School Education and Early Childhood (SCSEEC) in January 2012.

The framework was reviewed by ACARA in consultation with jurisdictions and sectors in 2012. In December 2012 SCSEEC approved a revised framework, the Measurement Framework for Schooling in Australia 2012 to take effect from the 2012 reporting year.